Tobacco

Per Minnesota Statute, Horizon Public Health has been authorized by the Douglas, Grand and Pope County Boards to regulate the sale of tobacco and tobacco products in their respective counties. The Douglas County Ordinance, the Grant County Ordinance and the Pope County Ordinance provide information about selling tobacco products in the county.

 

Applying for an Annual Tobacco License

Tobacco licenses are issued by Horizon Public Health in Douglas, Grant, and Pope Counties. In Stevens and Traverse Counties, tobacco licenses are issued by the respective county as indicated below. A tobacco license is required to sell tobacco or tobacco products (including electronic delivery devices) within areas of the respective counties located outside of cities and towns that license and regulate their own retail tobacco sales, as provided in Minnesota Statutes section 461.12, subdivision 1.

 

 

Obtaining a Tobacco License

Douglas County – Complete the Tobacco License Application and Workers’ Compensation Form now. The 2018 fee is $175 for an annual license from January 1st – December 31st. Please print and complete the application and submit the application by mail along with payment by check or money order. (Note: In the cities of Alexandria, Carlos, Evansville, Forada, Garfield, Millerville, Miltona, and Osakis have their own municipal tobacco license. A tobacco license must be obtained from that city if your store is within the respective city limits.)

Grant County – Complete the Tobacco License Application and Workers’ Compensation Form  now. The 2018 fee is $50 for an annual license from January 1st – December 31st. Please print and complete the application and submit the application by mail with payment by check or money order.

Pope County – Complete the Tobacco License Application and Workers’ Compensation Form now. The 2018 fee is $150 for an annual license from January 1st – December 31st. Please print and complete the application and submit the application by mail with payment by check or money order.

Stevens County – Tobacco licenses can be obtained from the Stevens County Auditor Treasurer’s Office at 320-208-6570 or at http://www.co.stevens.mn.us/documentcenter/view/853

Traverse County – Tobacco licenses can be obtained from the Traverse County Auditor’s Office at 320-422-7740.

Please contact Misty at Horizon Public Health for more information. 320-762-2973, mistyh@horizonph.org.

 

Minnesota Tobacco Retailer Training

The Minnesota tobacco retailer training is designed to help tobacco retailers comply with Minnesota and federal laws that regulate the sale of tobacco, electronic delivery devices, or e-cigarettes, and tobacco-related devices.

The training takes approximately one hour to complete and is divided into three sections. There are a total of 25 questions, and the retailer must correctly answer 17 questions to be awarded a certificate. The certificate will be emailed to the email address provided by the retailer at registration. http://www.ansrmn.org/stopsalestominors